In some areas of the US, a 'curfew' is imposed, in which teenagers are not allowed to be out of doors after a particular time at night unless they are accompanied by an adult. What is your opinion about this?

In many parts of the US, adolescents are not permitted by their parents to go out after a certain time, unless they are with a grown-up. I strongly agree with this because it is dangerous for young people to be out late at night and they are irresponsible when it comes to making decisions.

First and foremost, streets can be an unsafe place for adolescents at night due to high crime rates. Numerous cities face serious issues such as human trafficking, kidnappings and violent crimes, with young people aged 13 to 19 often being the victims in most cases. For instance, Romania has seen an alarming increase in the number of teenagers kidnapped and trafficked outside the country, because they are vulnerable due to their inability to protect themselves. Authorities have forewarned the citizens about this, pointing out that risks increase at night. Therefore, keeping adolescents indoors under adult supervision is a significantly safer option.

Moreover, teenagers may act irresponsibly and engage in high-risk behaviors, owing to their limited experience and understanding of consequences. Over the last few years, the rate of adolescents who arrive at the hospital because of an overdose or alcohol-induced coma has risen sharply. For example, in many countries, governments have increased police patrols at night to address intoxicated by alcohol young people who loiter on the streets at night, causing car accidents or vandalizing public property. In conclusion, imposing a curfew on teenagers to stay indoors after a particular hour is highly beneficial, as it protects them from dangers on the streets at night and prevents engaging in high-risk behavior due to their lack of awareness of consequences.