In some cities and towns all over the world, the high volume of traffic is a problem.What are the causes of this and wha actions can be taken to solve this problem?

It is true that metropolitan cities and towns world-wide experience heavy traffic, and this has been a major problem. This is largely due to the large number of automobiles on the road, coupled with the fact that there are narrow roads. These factors can therefore be mitigated by reduction in number of vehicles and road extension.

Firstly, the primary cause of high traffic on roads is the large number of vehicles on the road. In most large cities, the population density is usually high, and more people means more vehicles, hence the incidence of road blocks. Secondly, in many countries, the roads are not wide enough to accommodate many cars to move at once, therefore, vehicles queue behind each other and move slowly, resulting in high-volume traffic. For example, Nigeria is densely populated and many citizens own their own vehicle, furthermore, the roads are not spacious to allow for free flow of cars on the road, and these has caused long-standing traffic over the years.

Regardless of these problems, there actions the government can take to curtail these issues. First is to provide eco-friendly and comfortable public transport systems in order to encourage people to use them and reduce the number of automobiles on the road. Second is to extend the roads used by these cars into multiple lanes to ensure seamless movement of vehicles. Russia, in a bid to reduce road traffic recently provided luxurious buses for passengers to use for commuting at a very cheap price and this was after they did a major road extension in the country’s capital.

In conclusion, traffic jam is a major social concern in most towns and cities in the world. This is due to narrow roads and large number of cars, which can be solved by road expansion and automobiles reduction in number.