In some cities and towns all over the world, the high volume of traffic is a problem.What are the causes of this and wha actions can be taken to solve this problem?

Most of the world’s metropolises suffer from daily traffic jams, which constitute a major transportation challenge for these cities. As the main cause for traffic issues stems from individuals’ preference for driving their personal vehicles daily, cities are required to implement plans to convince the population to use public transportation more frequently.

The primary reason for chaotic traffic in major cities concerns the massive population density and the number of automobiles on the roads. Large urban areas concentrate a considerable share of middle-class citizens who have the financial means to purchase personal cars, which are driven daily on the roads. For example, 60% of inhabitants of the metropolitan area of Los Angeles have one or more passenger vehicles that are used daily. Consequently, the road infrastructure of most cities is not designed to allow the flow of thousands of automobiles simultaneously, resulting in long-lasting bottlenecks. For instance, the city of Austin is known for having slow traffic during commuting hours due to the persistence of its residents in driving their own cars to work.

Solutions to reduce the high volume of traffic on large metropolises require incentivizing citizens to exchange private vehicles for public transportation. Firstly, cities need to procure legislation limiting when and where residents can drive their automobiles, aiming to disincentivize their overuse. A pertinent example of such political solution can be drawn from the city of Rome, where local law mandate hefty fees for those who drive their personal cars within the city centre during busy hours. Secondly, it is imperative for cities to construct low-cost reliable public transportation systems, and foster their use for commuting. Research from the city of Beijing has discovered that the expansion of subway and bus lines has reduced the amount of passenger vehicle on the streets during working days.

In conclusion, the population’s overreliance on private automobiles for transportation is the root cause of traffic problems in major urban centres. To solve this challenge, it is crucial for governments to enhance investments in public transportation and develop legislative means to convince residents to trade their personal cars for buses and the metro; thus, reducing the volume of traffic.