It would be quicker if there was the same punishment for the same crimes, but some people think this is not a good policy because circumstances should be considered. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

These days, crime and law system are highly popular topic for arguments as people trying to find solution to make to it more effective. It is believed by some people that having the same punishment for the same crimes would be more efficient, while others think circumstances of the crime are crucial.In this essay I will discuss both sides and give my own opinion.

Firstly, equal punishment system would lessen crime rates. People would clearly know what consequences they should expect after commiting a crime. It would become a deterrent for them and would make them think twice. For instance, whether they really need to rob the bank if the punishment is prison sentence that would take some precious time from their lives. Secondly, it is fair that the system would become much more quicker. There would be no point in courts and advocates at all, because the needed punishment would be given automotically, without considering any circumstances.

However, other point of view denies this opinion. Circumstances are profoundly important during trial. When, where, how, why are the questiones that must be answered in order to save someone’s life. Because prison, big fines and death penalty are only for the real offenders, not inoccent people whose life can be ruined even when they did nothing wrong. A person who has been planning a violent crime for a long time should not get the same punishment as a person who murdered someone in self-defence. What’s more, factors, such as mental health state, poverty and age should also be taken into the account.

To conclude, the same punishemt for the same crimes system is definitly effective and might make crime figures smaller, but it’s not fair. Personally, I think that, though, it takes a lot of time, all of the circumstances of the crime should be considered and every person must get the punishment that they deserve based on the decision of the court.