In some countries, criminal trials in law courts are shown on television so that the general public can watch them. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?.

Nowadays, many countries make trials public and use television to spread it in society. This essay thinks that benefits exceed the drawback because although some criminals can be more aware about laws and how to avoid consequences, it may lead to a decrease of the overall crime rate.

The main disadvantage of introducing public trials is the acknowledgement of the law by criminals. A lot of cases had been solved only because felons were not aware of what they can say and how to interact with detectives. After watching how law works some of them might have more knowledge about how to get away with crime and what to do if you get caught. According to some researchers in Britain, when the German government started to show the process of tribunal work on TV, the amount of the guilty people who were not caught increased slightly. However, I believe that the fall in the number of crimes outweighs the problem of a little more prepared felons.

The positive side of public tribunal policy is that it may lead to a significant fall in crime rate. People after watching it will be more scared of the consequences, they would think twice before disobeying the law. For instance, China is one of the safest countries in the world, but it was not always as safe as it is now. 20 years ago, the Chinese government applied a new law and let people watch the trials process. After that the amount of criminals showed a sharp downward tendency and hit the lowest point. Therefore, I think that it is of greater advantage for countries to make people free to watch trials.

To conclude, even though some guilty individuals may use knowledge to protect themselves, I believe that the advantage of reducing the total number of crimes exceeds the negative aspects.