In some countries, governments encourage businesses to move outside of the cities to solve the problems of housing and transport in the cities. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this policy?

Industries have developed drastically over the past few decades. Due to, increase in population it becomes important for the government to plan housing to accommodate everyone and reduce the traffic in cities. In order to do so the government motivates industrialist to move outside the city. However, this plan comes with equal number of advantages and disadvantages.

To begin with, the obvious advantage of moving businesses to outskirts is that it reduces the pollution level in cities. Industries release harmful chemicals into the atmosphere causing air pollution which causes dangerous health hazards. Also, it produces a lot of noise due to heavy machineries which could cause disturbance and noise pollution if build in the cities. Furthermore, waste disposal becomes easy if these factories are build outside the cities.

Conversely, the downside of building companies in rural areas is transportation. Employees who work in these factories need to travel for hours to reach office, which would make them less efficient while working. Moreover, they would also demand for travel allowance which would be an additional expense for the company. Another drawback is that, businesses increase the cost of product due to logistics which they have to pay to ship the items back to the cities. Thus, increasing the overall price of the item for customers.

To summarize, though moving companies outside the cities premises might mitigate the problems around pollution and waste management. However, there are potential demerits such as, time wasted in travelling to workplace and extra cost involved in shipping these goods back to the cities.