In some countries in Europe, some children from the age of 11 or 13 go to schools to learn more practical skills that will help them get a job. Other children stay in schools which provide a more general academic education. What should schools do to prepare students for the world of work?

The European education system is known to be one of the best in the world. Between the ages of 11 and 13, teenagers are expected to choose between two paths of schooling. Some schools emphasize more practical learning while others focus on more academic classroom learning. The merits and demerits of both paths are debatable. This essay will present advantages of both schools of thought and the impact they might have on a student’s job preparedness.

On one hand, practical education helps to develop skills that ease entry into a specialized job role. A person might find it easier to transfer their education into workable skills due to the focus on hands-on skills acquisition in a specific field of competence.

On the other hand, academic education creates a platform and base of knowledge that allows for flexibility in a person’s career path, especially at the initial stages. This allows the individual to pivot into different careers as the options in the job market change.

In my opinion, a combination of both practical learning and academic education is necessary in the current modern dynamic job market, as more and more employers require well-rounded individuals, especially at the early stages of their careers.

In conclusion, for european youngsters in either a literal or a hands-on educational system, both pathways have their unique advantages. I believe a mix of both practical and academic learning will yield better results and improve job satisfaction.