In some countries, many more people are choosing to live alone nowadays than in the past. Do you think this is a positive or negative development? Include reasons and examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

In the modern era, more and more people have the tendency to live alone in the developed countries. From my perspective, this trend can have both negative and positive effects, and this essay will delve into two aspects.

On the one hand, there are various positive effects for one-person households. Firstly, these people have more freedom than living with the others. This is because they may find it comfortable to do everthing without the complaint of their roommate. For example, if indiviaduals who frequently come back home late, they will find better when living alone since they don’t disturb the others. Moreover, on an individual level, people who want to live alone may be more independent and self-reliant. For instance, young adults living far from their family members have to learn some basic life skills such as cooking the meals, managing budget.

Despite these positive above, I believe that this trend brings various negative consequences. One of them is the increase in the cost to pay for renting acommodation like electric bills, water and food. This is because they do not have roommate to share these amount of money, create an enormous burden about budget and maybe face up to financial crisis. Besides, living alone may make people feel tedious and bored, more seriously, they may suffer from depression if they live alone for a long time. For example, when they have difficulties, there is not anyones beside them to emphathise and foster them to encounter challenges. If this continueously occurs, it may make their mood drop.

In conclusion, while the determination to live by oneself may brings positive things, it is more negative to adopt this lifestyle, especially in the modern world like today. Therefore, young people should take into careful consideration the choice whether the lifestyle is better for them.