In some countries, online shopping is replacing shopping in stores. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In the globalization process, opinions are divided on whether residents should follow conventional shopping methods or Internet-based alternatives. The latter, in many cases, would be more beneficial.

Spending through the Internet, compared to the conventional method of shopping would save a great deal of time. This is given that, when shopping online, individuals would tend to refer to product feedback and revaluates of post-users before compensating, consequently they would find it unchallenging to compare prices and standards of merchandise that they need such as household items, clothes, and smartphones, laptops, on e-commerce platforms like Amazon, Shoppee, or branding websites without going to shopping centers. Not to mention that operators would support exchange and return policies, only in case goods remain intact. Consequently, they would significantly reduce the huge cost and time involved in transportation. For instance, my mother, a busy person, frequently used Shoppee, a well-known in Vietnam, to purchase my household items such as a blender, a cooker, and our clothes, after consulting from post-consumer feedback, comments about these products, thereby she saved a great deal of time for moving. If absent from this experience of Internet-based courses, my mother would be challenged in equilibrium between her jobs and shopping.

Although I virtually support the aforementioned point, to play the devil’s advocate, I would entertain a counter-argument. Admittedly, Internet-based courses, in comparison with traditional methods might be less fresh farm produce. This is considering that residents may purchase agricultural products such as fresh vegetables, meats, and fish which are virtually significant cooking ingredients at local markets. In the interim, shopping online may not be that satisfactory at it. Notwithstanding, these conventional methods would not be completely suitable for people, spending virtual time on their assignments. Thus they would frequently order fast consumption, which would not be positive for their health, to save a great deal of time. To avoid this problem, in Vietnam, many apps, such as Grab Food, and Shoppee Food, would ship fresh ingredients to customers in inner areas.

In sum, for all the aforementioned reasons, I believe that Internet-based shopping, compared to the traditional way of spending would be a more beneficial development.