In some countries people spend long hours at work. Why does this happen? Is it positive or negative development

Some individuals of various nation-states now devote increased hours to their jobs or businesses. I strongly believe that this is a negative development as it results in health challenges which affects work-life balance and contributes to the rise of social crimes from offsprings of absent parents.

Firstly, additions to official work duration could have a dire impact on the health of such employees. This could play out as a result of long eye strains, emotional exhaustion, sedentary lifestyle, long sitting hours among others. All of these common features required when employees dedicate longer hours at work result in implication health conditions like depression from constant emotional exhaustion, low back-pain from lengthier sitting hours, cardiovascular risks from sedentary lifestyle. For instance, more and more mental breakdowns have been reported from major organizations like the big fours whose employees have been notable for a longer time at work. The impact this lifestyle has on work-life balance cannot be overemphasized.

Furthermore, the trending rise in social crimes from offsprings of absent parents can be traced back to absent parents who worked longer hours. When nurturers spend longer time away from their children or wards it is inconsequential, that the young ones are left to make life choices on their own or from influence of bad friends. When consistently left unchecked, the young ones give in and become perpetrators of crime such as robbery and rape.

In conclusion, lengthier stays at places of employment negatively impacts the health of such employees and contributes to the rate of social crimes.