In some countries people spend long hours at work. Why does this happen? Is it positive or negative development

In many nations, individuals spend a prolonged time at work. This is because work is a part of their cultures. Although some people negatively think about this practice, I personally consider that it is an appreciable development owing to the fact that it is favourable not only for the country, but also for individual citizens.

In several countries, there is a cultural trend among people to work long hours. It is a positive development because, if employees spend more time in the workplace, businesses will be able to increase their production. Thus, it directly benefits the nation’s economy. For example, working extra hours is a part of Japanese culture. Despite the fatigue, they feel proud when they work more than the legal requirement. In 2023, an empirical research demonstrated how this type of practice financially benefits the country. Workers work more, which boosts the industrial production. That means the nation has more goods to export.

Moreover, an individual employee can earn more money if he or she works additional hours. In this capitalist world, living expenses are unaffordable for many people. Having the opportunity to do overtime, it might be life-saving for them. For instance, a social service organisation did a survey in Bangladesh on citizens’ lifestyles. The report firmly depicted that 35% of the Bangladeshi people will not be able to survive if they do not work extra hours.

In conclusion, spending a few more hours in the workplace is worth it to be taken positively. The first reason is that it is a great way to contribute more in nations’ economy, and the second reason is that individuals can expand their income.