In some countries police officers do not carry guns. How does this affect the manner they implement law and order? Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of having a gun. Provide specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

In few nations police officers are not armed, which possess many benefits as well as drawbacks on implementation of rules and regulations. In my opinion, it is better for the enforcement to carry guns with them. This essay will discuss both positives and negatives of unarmed officials.

To begin with, police has to deal with criminals on a daily basis which possess grave danger to the officer’s lives. Carrying a gun in such instances becomes a necessity for self defense as well as to protect others around them. According to an article in The Hindustan newspaper 256 policemen were killed by criminals in India in 2023 and 187 out of those could have been avoided if they were armed. A survey by UNICEF stated nations with armed officers have less criminal activities.

On the other hand, great power comes with a great responsibility. Handing over a gun to a untrained officer can be harmful for the society. A recent incident happened in Malton city, where a police officer killed a mentally ill person who was trying to attack the officer with a knife, Court considered it as a justifiable defense. However, people were raged after hearing the courts ruling. People believe that less harmful alternative like stun gun could be used.

In conclusion, It is considered that police are in contact with criminals on a daily basis and it can be very dangerous for them and they should carry guns with them for self defense and to represent power in order to enforce law. However, giving arms to an untrained professional can be harmful. In my opinion, benefits outweigh the negative aspects for police having guns.