Nowadays, a lot of people in college are doing academic study. We should encourage them to learn vocational skill ( like plumbers and electricians) Do you agree or disagree?

Most people prefer to study at universities, sticking to traditional ways of learning, rather than participating in vocational training, which can benefit certain qualified workers, such as electricians.

On the one hand, you have a lot of theoretical knowledge upon graduating from a highly prestigious university, which, obviously, can be easily applied at work later on. This is suitable for people who require a professional degree in order to gain a proper workplace, for example, healthcare, law, or education fields, requiring 3-4+ years. For example, doctors have a long way to go through in the career in order to actually become a doctor in the first place, which is understandable, since doctors usually have someone’s life at stake. Learning theory teaches students to operate with critical and logical thinking throughout their life, not just their workplace.

Conversly, vocational training focuses more on practical, hands-on skills for your field, which could lead to a higher chance of being employed upon finishing the course. However, vocational training often cannot be used as the only source of education for most of the fields, as most require an actual degree. Vocational training is for a faster workforce entry with a direct expertise in one field.

Overall, both of these may work inclusively, such as on-campus work or summer internships, which can be beneficial for improving both theoretical knowledge and practical skills, while not interrupting the usual academic study. In my opinion, universities are a better choice, since it actually encourages self-learning and is more suitable for more professional jobs, offering potentitally higher-paying salaries in the long run.