In some countries, secondary schools aim to provide a general education across a range of subjects. In others, children focus on a narrow range of subjects related to a particular career. Which do you think is appropriate in today’s world?

In some nations, secondary students learn various subjects while in others, they concentrate on subjects relevant to a specific job. From my stance, I am of the latter school of thought.

Admittedly, one might argue that providing a general education across a variety of academic subjects is beneficial to a certain extent since students may have more opportunities to gain an overview of various fields of knowledge and thus understand diverse aspects of life. As a result, this could develop more comprehensive thinking and turn them into knowledgeable people.Moreover, some secondary students are not mature enough to decide which subject they are genuinely passionate about, so that being taught a variety of subjects exposes those students to as many subjects as possible may allow them to identify their subject of interest or major.

In fact, only a limited number of subjects could be used in a student’s future occupation, as such, if taught about those subjects right from secondary school, students may nurture in-depth knowledge and skills in the career they hope to pursue after graduation. Additionally, in the modern era, there is an increasingly distinct specialization of tasks in the labor market as recruiters tend to favor candidates with a good grounding of a single field over those who have a general knowledge but little or no expertise on a particular area. This is why school should focus on employment-related subjects as it leads young learners to more decent job prospects and thus a successful career.

In conclusion, I am firmly convinced that the tendency for secondary schools to educate a variety of subjects in some nations is not as proper as focusing on teaching subjects related to a particular occupation.