In some countries, small town-centre shops are going out of business because people tend to drive to large out-of-town stores. As a result, people without cars have limited access to out-of-town stores, and it may result in an increase in the use of cars. Do you think the disadvantages of this change outweigh its advantages?

It is believed that, local shops are going out of business as individuals prefer to go for large stores located out-of-town, in a few countries. Due to which, people without cars have less access to go outside the town and may increase the usage of cars, as a result. I think that, this change has both merits as well as demerits, though advantages outweighs the disadvantage, which are elaborated further.

To begin with, the primary reason for going out-of-town is that large stores provide huge varieties of products. Also, the majority of all kinds of goods are available at a single store with ease. This not only saves customers time but also saves resources like petrol or gas or money as well. Because going to different shops and finding each good is very tedious task. And this exactly happens when people go to shop for small stores in their town.

In addition, people have no time or very less time nowadays, as most of the people are working or studying who prefers to go out-of-town shopping. While, the old aged people or school going kids are the ones who majorly prefers to shop in town stores. As they are not capable to buy cars.