In some countries, small town-centre shops are going out of business because people tend to drive to large out-of-town stores. As a result, people without cars have limited access to out-of-town stores, and it may result in an increase in the use of cars. Do you think the disadvantages of this change outweigh its advantages?

In many countries, smaller central retailers and shops are being forced to shut down as more and more people prefer larger stores farther away from the city. Despite the potential negative effects on the environment and certain people, the benefits of this shift are of equal significance.

People who are not able to afford a car can have a number of limitations when purchasing local goods. With the decreased availability of central shops, they have to make journeys of extended duration and distance, which will take significantly more time with public transportation such as buses. This takes even a greater toll on the elderly’s health, as many of them do not have the strength to carry groceries while walking for a long time. In addition, a greater influx of vehicles will certainly cause bottlenecks at the exit points, negatively affecting the flow of traffic. Their exhaust fumes, when stationary, will also contribute to lower air quality, which leads to breathing problems in local areas.

However, I argue that the advantages of bigger, out-of-town shops evenly match the disadvantages for the following reasons. Since large shopping centers often store a large stockpile of goods, their prices can sometimes be significantly cheaper than those of local retailers in the city. Furthermore, consumers have a larger variety of products to choose from compared to smaller-sized retailers. These competitive edges are further improved when combined with their special discount coupons and loyalty programs, which attract people from far within the city. Some larger shopping malls also offer attraction facilities, changing their purpose to a place of entertainment rather than solely for purchasing goods. With movie theaters, restaurants, and large halls being added, this type of location becomes the main venue for popular activities and events among members of the youth.

In conclusion, with the shutdown of many local small-sized stores, people in the city may suffer from a number of inconveniences, as well as health problems caused by air pollution. However, despite the disadvantages mentioned above, I believe that the economic and entertainment values of out-of-town shops of larger scale are equally important. To preserve these values, a facility overhaul must be conducted to prevent traffic and pollution problems, as well as to keep local stores in operation.