In some countries, small town-centre shops are going out of business because people tend to drive to large out-of-town stores. As a result, people without cars have limited access to out-of-town stores, and it may result in an increase in the use of cars. Do you think the disadvantages of this change outweigh its advantages?

In many parts of the world, small town centre are nowadays replaced with large out-of-town stores which turns to rise in the usage of cars and a huge problem for people with no cars which limit their access to this facilities. There are both pros and cons for this situation. If asked, the demerits of this situation surpasses the merits. My inclination is discussed in the ensuing paragraphs.

Discussing the disadvantages of large out-of-town stores, the first and the foremost to prove my point is limited access for non-drivers. This is because, people without cars such as elderly, students or low income groups, face challenegs accessing this essential goods. Furthermore, it also have harsh impact on environment. For example, increase is usage of car to reach out-of-town leads to higher emission, contributing to pollution and climate change.

Moreover, it led to loss of community. To instance, small shops often serve as social hub and direct attachment of the seller with the buying behaviour of the customers, and their closure can harm the sense of community. Also, it can lead to economic consequences. In other words, small businesses are vital for local economies, providing jobs and circulating money within the community. Their closure can increase umemployemnt.

On the contrarary, there are some drawbacks too. To initiate with, Access to large varieties of products. Out-of-town stores provides wide range of products under one roof which offers convenience in shopping. Besides this, it also provides high quality goods at nominal prices. This is because, Large stores often offer discounts and bulk buying options, which make them more economical friendly and increase the purchasing power of the buyers.

To conclude, their are few merits such as large varieties, lower prices and more but there are many demerits like limited access, impact on environment, loss of community and economic consequences too. However, my arguments prove that disadvantages of this situation are more than advantages.