In some countries, small town-centre shops are going out of business because people tend to drive to large out-of-town stores. As a result, people without cars have limited access to out-of-town stores, and it may result in an increase in the use of cars. Do you think the disadvantages of this change outweigh its advantages?

Consumerism has led to several changes in the shopping landscape. The most recent one is the rise of large out-of-town stores, which led to the closure of many local shops as people increasingly follow new shopping trends. This shift has raised concerns regarding the potential increase in car use. While this trend entails certain benefits, they are outweighed by the drawbacks.

Large out-of-town stores offer several advantages. First, such enterprises stimulate far greater economic activity. Smaller local shops are usually family run or operated by only a few people, whereas large retail organizations generate a huge number of jobs in many links within the institution, including in managerial roles, sales, storage, and distribution. This creates an opportunity for many people to have regular incomes, helping them elevate from poverty in many regions. Take Korzinka – one of the biggest out-of-town retail chains in Uzbekistan, which reportedly employs 10,000 people. Such examples reflect how such big organizations can contribute to greater economic activity.

Despite this, the disadvantages large out-of-town stores bring are more significant. First and foremost, people’s growing reliance on out-of-town stores can indeed result in higher rates of car use, with the environment ultimately taking the biggest hit. Cars have long been considered a major culprit in climate change, as they burn fossil fuels. While recent years have seen an increase in electric vehicle usage, such vehicles are still far from becoming the primary option for the majority of the world population. So, when people’s reliance on cars rises, so do the greenhouse gas emissions, potentially exacerbating climate change.

On a more personal level, a potential increase in car use can affect the quality of people’s lives. Apart from worsening air quality, cars often contribute to noise pollution, frequent traffic jams, and road accidents – major concerns for city dwellers. When these problems arise even in outskirts of the city – often associated with peace and serenity – due to the growing popularity of out-of-town stores, life in cities can become unbearable for many inhabitants.

In conclusion, one positive impact of the rise of large out-of-town stores is their potential contribution to the economic growth of the region. However, this benefit is overshadowed by negative effects this trend has, as it leads to increased car usage, which in turn worsens climate change and affects life quality for city dwellers.