In some countries, students live with their family while studying at a university. In other countries, students attend university in another city. Do you think the advantages of living away from family home while attending university outweigh the disadvantages?

In many nations, lots of students live with their family while pursuing education at a higher level, others choose to attend university away from home. From my perspective, I believe the disadvantages of living away from home outperform the merits.

First of all, I understand why moving to another city to pursue higher education provides students with a lot of skills such as independence, problem-solving skills. One of the main benefits of living far from home is that pupils can learn how to live alone and how to protect themselves. This is because while they are living far from home, they have to handle all the things around their life such as cooking, managing their budget, doing household chores, providing them a lot of practical skills to grow more mature. It also enables them the opportunities to learn how to be responsible for their life and make their own decisions without the assistance of their parents.

On the other hand, I believe relocating to another metropolis to attend university has a negative impact on adolescents such as the shortage of life skills, the feelings of loneliness and experiencing cultural shock. Many students are used to being supported and spoiled by their parents when they are young, therefore if they have to live in another city without their mother and fathers’ support, they may suffer from how to take care of themselves and may lack of practical skills needed to live alone. Another drawback of this is that pupils studying far from home often lack strong support networking from their family, leading to feelings of isolation and loneliness. In addition, when moving to another area to attend higher education, pupils often have to transform themselves to adapt with the difference from lifestyles, cuisines and traditions.

In conclusion, although studying away from home may benefit adolescents to some extent, I believe the demerits of this overperform the advantages as pupils may suffer from homesickness, lack of practical skills and may experience some cultural shock. I think if students have to move to another city in search of education opportunities, both the government and families should teach them life skills, train them how to adapt with the new environment, and educate them to be independent; so that adolescents are allowed to brighter their future and career prospects.