In some countries, students live with their family while studying at a university. In other countries, students attend university in another city. Do you think the advantages of living away from family home while attending university outweigh the disadvantages?

In some parts of the world, students can have their university education while still living under the same roof with their family, whereas in others they leave their home to attend university in a different place. From my perspective, the benefits of the latter are more prominent than its drawbacks because of a number of reasons.

It is clear that not being close to the students’ hometown offer them numerous advantages. One of them is that they must prepare themselves to be more independent. Chief of these is that living, in another city means they will have to do everything by themselves, thus becoming more self-disciplined and responsible for their own lives. Another reason that should be considered is that students will be given more career opportunities. High-ranking universities are usually in major cities, therefore if students have the chances to attend these universities, they will receive better education, meet other seniors to create a strong network, and later on equip enough skills and knowledge to enjoy career prospects.

Opponents of this view may argue that living with family provides one shelter and finance, so he or she just needs to focus on studying. However, this line of reasoning is not sound because it is detrimental to a person’s mental development. Parents being with their children all the time swipes out any of their freedom in their lives. Moreover, this also prevents students from getting out of their comfort zones to be exposed to the outside world. Therefore, the claim that college students should live with their family is without merit.

In conclusion, while parents’ close support may be beneficial, it is more ideal for students to be away from their family and start their own university lives.