In some countries, the government provides payments for unemployed people. How does this impact individuals and the government? Do you agree or disagree with this idea?

In some parts of the world citizens without an occupation are supported financially by their government. While it helps individuals to avoid poverty, national budget might be stretching too thin to accommodate all job-seekers. I believe that it is a necessary investment that insures long-term stability of the society

Monthly payments for the unemployed allow them to focus on job-hunting without worrying about covering their basic needs. Some even might use the time to hone their skills which in return opens the doors to even more career opportunities and makes them more valuable employees. However, this financial aid creates additional burden on the national budget and on those who are currently paying the taxes. For example, in Germany the government covers the rent and the insurance while also providing almost 600 euros for those without jobs. Considering the taxes that apply to the working class, some simply choose not to work and enjoy all the free time in the world

Personally, I support the subsides for the unemployed in order to avoid fueling the poverty issue. Long lasting unemployment is bound to lead to the rise in the homeless population and in crime rates. While the government might feel constrained by the subsides, they are a preventive measure against a larger issue. That said, the financial aid should not be too high to make people lazy. For example, the recent study proved that most minimum wages set by different countries do not allow for a comfortable living. Thus, subsides should urge individuals to seek employment.

In conclusion, while it might seem that the unemployment privileges weigh down on the government and the working individuals, I believe they pay off in the long run. With their basic needs covered, people are more likely to find an occupation that would benefit the country instead of begging in the streets for change.