In some countries there are more young people choosing to enrol in work-based training instead of attending university. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, in some parts of the world, there is a notable increase in teenagers enrolling in vocational training, as opposed to going to universities. Some argue that vocational training teaches career-specific knowledge and provides hands-on experience, while others believe university is still vital in one’s career success, and vocational training may confine the career opportunities of youngsters. In my opinion, there are more disadvantages than advantages in choosing work-based training.

To commence with, vocational training may confine the choices of different career pathways of teenagers. Teenagers, are still at the age where they are still figuring out their interests and career aspirations. Given that vocational training mainly teaches career-specific knowledge, it is arduous for youngsters to discover other career pathways. Besides that, society nowadays accentuate on academic degrees, yet vocational training may not guarantee a degree. For instance, if one want to be a lawyer or doctor, it is mandatory to have those degrees, as these are professional jobs. Therefore, work-based training limits the career pathways of young people.

In terms of the benefits, work-based training helps teenagers to achieve their career goals earlier. As it provides specific knowledge of a particular industry, it is condusive to people who have a strong passion in some job fields. It would be easier for one to pursue their dreams with vocational training if they are already determined their future. However, this may not be applicable for those who want to become professionals in the future. Addtionally, vocational training provides hands-on experience, while university does not. Nevertheless, resources of university are far more than the vocational training organizations. From exchange opportunities to massive networks, these are those organizations that cannot offer to their students.

In conclusion, it is believed that university is better when compared to work-based training, mainly due to its variety of abundant resources, diverse career opportunities, and high recognization.