In some countries, there is not enough recycling of waste materials (e.g., paper, glass, and cans). What are the reasons, and what can be done to solve this problem?

Sustainable and environmentally-friendly development is the foremost aim for almost every nation’s economic systems. In many countries, however, waste material recycling has been inadequate. This tendency may be attributed to the negligence of businesses in terms of recycling process and the substandard public recycling system, which may be resolved by implementation of stricter rules, government’s fundings and the public’s voices.

The most prominent factor causing lack of recycling is rooted in profit-oriented companies themselves. As recycling by-products tend to be extremely cost-expense and time-demanding, it is prone to be overlooked by corporation owners prioritizing incomes foremostly. Given that the substances dumped from the manufacturing centres are usually colossal and hazardous than household’s, the masses’ attempt to recycle their tiny bits of litters are potentially of little impact to the overall environment, if not more futile. To resolve this issue requires both the participation of the general public and the authorities, in which the latter need to apply stricter legislation and punishment regarding companies’ violating behaviors, while the former can raise their objection toward corporations whose products or producing process may contaminate the natural biodiversity.

Another reason why some nations are low in recycling waste is based on the absence of up-to-date systems and recycling facilities. Nowadays, only certain types of wasted materials are recycled, such as papers, water bottles or aluminum cans; whilst those which directly pose a significant threat to the environment, such as wastewater, batteries or single-use plastics unfortunately can not be recycled with today’s current technology. The majority of them are either burned, dumped into the ocean or buried underground, further eroding the soil and deteriorating the ecosystem. Thus, swift and urgent expenditure on upgrading the equipment must be taken by the leading government. One may purpose that increasingly widespread campaigns and education to teach the public about recycling should also be taken into consideration. I must say, nevertheless, this idea is most likely to be good on paper since people may deliberately ignore the problem despite all of those awareness-raising efforts due to the convenience offered by the non-eco friendly products.

In conclusion, the issue of insufficient waste recycling is mainly resulted from the irresponsibility in recycling process of the revenue-driven firms and the limited cutting-edge facilities, which can be addressed by the application of stricter policies, extensive boycott and investments