In some countries today, people are having their first child when they are older. What are the reasons for this? Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

The new generation tends to get married late, encountering fundamental issues that accrue during a lifetime, such as having a baby for the first time at a more advanced age. Several factors contribute to this, and I strongly agree with this point.

In today’s society, people have their first child when they are older because they think having a child when they are younger prevents them from achieving their expected social and academic status. That is true, but on the other hand, it has negative aspects that people in society inevitably experience. One of the disadvantages is that there is a generational difference between children and parents. This gap causes the two sides to face many challenges, in which case their problems will deepen, and they will not be able to solve them efficiently. This problem has a significant impact on their upbringing, and sometimes, it makes parents unable to understand their children well. Another important reason is that children feel ashamed that their parents are older. They always look for a young, fresh, and lively appearance in their parents and compare their parents with their friends’ parents. Older parents are less enthusiastic than younger parents and don’t have the patience to interact with their children.

A primary reason for this trend is the psychological dimension of people, especially women in society who tend to have children at an older age; the change in their lifestyle, with the increase in the level of their education and the increase in social participation in society, it has been possible for them to access a wealth of information about health issues and contraceptive methods, enabling them to make informed decisions about when to have children. For example, women who have a child earlier than their inner desire and at an inappropriate time cannot be responsible because they consider having a child as an obstacle to achieving their goals, including reaching a higher level of well-being.

Another important reason for this issue is its social dimension, the significant reduction of male dominance, or patriarchy, in the current world. Unlike in the past, men do not have a particular physical, intellectual, and social superiority, and they no longer dominate women. Therefore, with an increase in the social power of women towards their social rights, women are the owners of their bodies and no longer solely play the roles of mothers and wives. As a result, they try to have children when they do not lose their educational and job opportunities to achieve an equal position with men.

In conclusion, the trend of having children at a later age is primarily driven by factors such as career, well-being, improved contraceptive methods, and equal rights between women and men. While this development has both merits and demerits, a careful evaluation suggests that the benefits, including enhanced parental maturity and financial stability, generally outweigh the drawbacks.