In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

In some countries students after graduating from school decide to take a gap year before starting to study at university. In this essay will be discussed merits and demerits of making a decision to spend a year before university on working or traveling

One of the most obvious advantage of taking a gap year is that it is a great chance to have a rest and this decision may help students to find themselves and to understand what they really want and which profession is the proper one. Not everyone recognize their goals and plans their future at early ages or during the school years. consequently for some people it would be the period of finding their favorite profession. Traveling or working can also help them to find their vocation. An additional merit of this decision is that a year after school could also help students to become independent and to start their life as an adult. Working and starting their lives can make them understand their parents, and they will appreciate and spend their own earned money in a smart way.

However, gal year also has some disadvantages. One major drawback associated with taking a gap year is that traveling or working during that year can be very expensive. The cost of plane or train tickets, staying at the hotel, purchasing some things and other spending could lead to the high drop in their income. Another negative aspect of this decision is that the student can lag behind their peers for a year. It can make them to feel their selves bad and unlucky, while their friends passing their desired university and becoming a university students. So students who decided to have a rest can become easily unmotivated and can also lose their purpose to live and study.

In conclusion, a gap year is both beneficial and harmful for young people. It helps them to decide what to study and have the opportunity to become and live as an adult. on the contrary it also wastes time and their money and it causes them to lose motivation to study.