In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

In this contemporary world, taking a gap year has become common among the young generation. They are inspired to take a gap year as a chance to work and travel when they complete high school and are on the verge of studying at university. I believe the advantages of this argument outweigh the disadvantages, as it is important to take some time off from the academic pressure they had in high school. This essay will outline the potential pros and cons of this argument.

On the one hand, there are a number of merits in terms of taking a gap year before starting higher education. Firstly, traveling overseas usually helps them recharge their batteries. This provides an opportunity for youngsters to relax due to the fact that they probably get exhausted from every day of school lessons and homework they have consistently done for decades. As a result, they are highly likely to begin their undergraduate studies with boundless energy. For example, statistics reveal that in 2020, several distinguished professors at Boston University found that students who took a gap year before starting undergraduate studies showed more remarkable academic achievement compared to those who started it right after the completion of high school.

Moreover, doing some practical work during a gap year can also be rewarding and lead to personal growth. It is well known that tuition fees at some universities are considered to be a challenge for most people who live in low-income neighborhoods. This gap year could offer a chance for young dwellers to accumulate some money in order to pay for their education. Not only can a way to find a resource be efficient, but it can also be a way to gain practical experience. As an example, if they work as receptionists in a hotel, they may hone their cognitive skills involving communication and problem-solving abilities. That is why leaving a year between high school and tertiary education plays an important role in young humans` lives.

On the other hand, taking a gap year would be counterproductive to some extent. In detail, as long as they get hired in a position where they are offered a substantial salary and unpaid training with job prospects, they will lose their passion to further their studies. For instance, in developed nations, particularly the USA, the majority of sales assistants, who once came to work permanently, decided to stay in their post longer owing to earning a decent salary and gave up getting a qualification in university.

In conclusion, taking some time off after high school has become crucial. Even though it seems disadvantageous to cause young people to change their minds, it allows young individuals to raise funds for tuition fees and wind up.