In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In some countries, youngsters are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Some people think it is necessary, others think it is risky and not worth taking. This essay will provide both points of view and discuss them in details.

To begin with, one of the main advantages of taking a gap year is having better preparation for university studies. University life is harder than that of high school as students have more freedom to express themselves and act on their own. Therefore, taking a year to work can benefit greatly; as it gives them more life experience and prepares themselves with a strong mentality for many hardships in life. Furthermore, in some countries, students have to pass the entrance exam to get into their wanted education. This exam is usually highly competitive, and it is especially true when the targeted university is respectable. Therefore, some people find it necessary to travel and refresh themselves after strenuous years of learning for the exam.

On the other hand, there are also drawbacks when taking a gap year that need to be considered. Firstly, it can discourage one from attending university later; as some students may become lazy and half-hearted with their studies due to the fact that they are tempted by the fun and the teenager’s carefree-lifestyle, which makes them lose purposes of study. In addition, some students may lose their golden time to start university. By starting university education a year later, they lose the chance to study along with their known friends from high school. This can be greatly detrimental due to the fact that it is much more efficient to learn when they have a companion to support them with knowledge and mentality.

In conclusion, taking a year to work or travel between finishing high school and starting university studies has both advantages and disadvantages that need to be carefully taken into account. Spending a year working or traveling can gain one valuable real life experience and refreshment but can also cost them the golden time to start university studies with their peers or discourage them from continuing their studies.