In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In todays world, with increasing complexity of tasks, many new jobs posted online require new set of qualifications. This prompts some to explore such opportunities after high school. While others start their higher studies immediately. I believe that one needs to explore before taking a leap since the pros outweigh the cons. The essay discusses both aspects with a conclusion at the end.

Taking a break after school gives time to reorganise and explore the job market. This will help to identify one’s strengths and shortlist courses required to advance it further. For example, after my schooling, I took a year gap working as a labratory assistant. Since I had always liked to research. I tried to learn from the accomplished. However, I lacked the patience and talent required to succeed. On the other hand, I was good at numbers and presentations. This helped me realise my strengths and look into business courses.

On the contrary, this can be a time consuming process. There are some professions which require early enrolment into colleges. For instance, IAS is the most coveted government administrative service. If your delayed by even one year, you might not reach the secretary of cabinet post by the time you are 55 year of age. Apart from that, some abroad universities do not accept gap in education. Even with a well articulated reason, they highly scrutinise such applications which leads to rejection in most cases.

In conclusion, I believe that its okay to take a break since it would save lot of time in comparison to the later strategy. Sometimes people take unrealistic courses based on its outlook. This leads to dropping out which is a wastage of money and time.