In some countries young people are increasingly losing interest in teaching. Why is this happening? What can be done to improve the situation?

In modern times, teaching is losing its popularity among the youth. The main cause of this problem is that teachers earn considerably less than other specialists, and in order to solve it, the government should provide both good salary and privileges for them.

Low salaries for teachers are the main reason why this profession is losing its popularity among the young. Compared to specialists in science and business fields, teachers have low income. Because of this, teachers cannot provide basic need for themselves, which makes this field undesirable among young people, as they would choose professions that have high rewards instead. For example, instead of picking a major in teaching, which cannot offfer high income, student would choose engineering or accounting major, as they can provide higher salaries. Therefore, the main cause of young people losing interest in teaching are the low wages.

To solve this, the government should set higher salaries and provide additional benefits for teachers. Wages that are high enough to compete with other specialists can appeal people that did not choose this major mainly because of the pay. In addition, benefits and privileges like student loan forgiveness can also motivate students to be teachers. Hus, the government should intervene and set high wages and give privileges for teachers, in order to tackle the problem of teaching losing its popularity.

In conclusion, the main reason why young people do not want to become teachers is that they have low income compared to other majors, and the government should make this profession more appealing by manipulating salaries and providing stimulus like loan forgiveness.