In some countries, young people have become richer, healthier, and live longer, but they are less happy. What causes? What can be done to address this situation?

In several countries, despite achieving wealth, a better health and longer life expectancy, young people tend to be more miserable. In this essay, I will discuss the reasons for this problem as well as suggesting possible solutions.

Due to the overall development of the society, not only is the economy enhanced significantly, gaining access to healthcare facilities is also becoming much easier, thus increasing the life expectancy. Despite these advantages, the modern society can bring several drawbacks to people’s life, especially youngsters, which lead to the decrease in their level of happiness. First, as a result of a dense population, there might be fewer opportunities in the job market for young individuals, forcing them to work or study hard if they want to accomplish success in their career or simply be able to afford a stable life. Consequently, these youngsters are put under high amount of stress, which can adversely affect their life fulfillment. Moreover, longer hours of work can also mean a reduction in one’s leisure time. Specifically, young people who tend to spend most of their day working, might be unable to suffer from sleep deficit or lack quality time for entertaining themselves or relieving the stress. In fact, according to researchers, young people under 25 these days only get averagely 4 hours of sleep per day, which is only about half of the figure for their parents in the past when they were at the same age.

However, several viable actions can be taken to alleviate this negative issue. First, attempting to do frequent exercises or meditation can be an effective way to reduce the stress that one endures, yet for those experiencing more serious mental conditions, they should consult a therapy or psychologist to receive proper treatment. By paying more attention to mental health, young people can improve their life satisfaction considerably. Another viable way to achieve a stress-free lifestyle is to reschedule youngster’s schedule through lessening the workload to a certain extent while allocating more time for doing positive activities such as doing hobbies. Doing this can allow people to lead an enjoyable life with less concerning matters to think about as their life is already filled with enjoyment.

In conclusion, being stressful and not having enough quality time are responsible for the decline in young people’s happiness, and taking notice to mentality as well as altering the timetable are among the actions that can be taken to solve this problem.