In some cultures, children are encouraged to compete against each other. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this approach?

Competition among kids is common in less developed countries. It is a practice that should be discussed based on their beliefs and not ours, as we have been raised in a modern civilisation, which is against such initiatives. Based on this approach, I believe that the advantages associated with it are greater than the disadvantages.

Competing, in terms of fighting, comes with a lot of strengths in a kid’s life. Firstly, children who get involved into fights are better prepared for life as adults. They build strong characters as they have to deal with failure, motivation, and courage from young ages, instead of having to grow up in order to come accross with the feelings associated with theses states of mind. Furthermore, the countries which are more likely to do something like that, have often people divided in tribes. Competing against each other is another way to identify a potential future leader. This way, the kid who will lead the tribe as an adult will have plenty of time to prepare for potential problems that may occur.

Despite the significant advantages, there are a few disadvantages that should be mentioned. To start with, severe injuries or even deaths are expected to occur through this process. Incidents associated with such as conditions will affect families for a life-long period. Moreover, it is possible that the children who faced a loss on these fights will develop mental health issues as adults. Unresolved childhood trauma is as severe as a health issues. Unfortunately, people in less developed countries are not capable of recognising the importance of it, resulting in suicides or criminal behaviours.

To conclude, encouraging kids to compete each other may have significant drawbacks for the children in the long term, but when it comes to the community, the benefits associated with such practices clearly outweigh the disadvantages.