In some cultures, children are encouraged to compete against each other. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this approach?

There are cultures where children are fostered to compete against each other. The possible advantage of this approach is engouraging better overall results. However, there are also disadvantages, such as increased pressure and decreased quality of relationships in family.

Competition between the young can have positive side effects, because this method creates the atmosphere where children want to show the best results and outdo their peers. Moreover, a desire to win may increase time for studing and enhance general knowledge in different skills. As a result, they may show better academic scores and even find their passion through studies. For example, a number of Olympic athletes have went through competition from a very early age, constantly competing for a medal. Consequently, this process has opened new career prospects and led them to the high results in sport, by improving their discipline and skills.

Nevertheless, this approach also has viable drawbacks to consider. Firstly, a high-level competition may put a harsh pressure on a children’s mental health which is not fully formed. Furthermore, kids may ruin a relationship with parents who make them show their best, because a big percentage of children are forced to compete against each other in order to satisfy their mother or father. For instance, there is an increasing issue in Japan due to a rising level of depression amoung the young. One of the reasons for this trend is high competition level in universities and colleges which most of people cannot cope with. Consequently, the majority of young individuals are likely to struggle with depression and feel mentally overwhelmed. To sum up, although encouraging to compete with others can boost a children’s productivity and results in school, it also can have adverse effects on health and family bond.