In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. what are the advantage and disadvantage of giving children this message.

In some cultures it is a common stereotype stating as long as children put enough effort, they can attain anything they want. In my opinion, this message can inspire them and give chance to grow as a person. However from the phycology side, it has its own downsides, particularly to self-confidence and missing childhood, which can cause disappointment.

Considering the positive side of message, it is truly justifies, but only in case of when the enough support is provided. As believing and determining talents always comes with the help of increasing children’s chances of success. That way, with a help of personal experience, it can make them highly understand principal and force to accomplish it. Such, for example, when learning foreign language, which is time-consuming hard work path, where not only talents play a significant role rather than proficiency – make children accept the challenges during the process and could keep motivated and not stop to learn. What is more important, children value their efforts, which develops a health mentality and improve flexibility, all necessary in adulthood.

On the other hand, acknowledging the negative sides can bring to other uncounted outcomes and even unfortunate concerns in child’s life, because expectations are always over the reality. Thus, children are too young to be mentally strong enough to manage with unrealistic goals, despite the backbreaking work, it does not justify the fact that their sense of assurance might be crashed by doubts in self-identity and intelligence, affecting mental well-being. Moreover, time spent not only on reaching false dreams, but also on childhood – can prevent from enjoying their years. In result, free time is spend on pursuing goals, instead of playing games with peers.

To conclude, it is essential telling children words of support, however it should go with balance between encouraging ambitions and respecting their own perspectives.