Some people think that the government should decide which subjects students should study at the university, while others think that students should be allowed to apply for the subject they prefer. Discuss the two views and give your opinion.

It is ofen believed that it is a good idea that students are free to choose their own subjects rather than follow to the rigid curriculum. However, some people claim that students should follow a set curriculum to become more aware. While it is true that students ought to gain knowledge in different subjects, I reckon that shools and universities should cultivate a more holistic approach in order to cater students’ preferences.

On the one hand, it is essential to support and give students freedom to choose what they want to study and to tailor the syllabus accoding to their needs. All that students want while studing is to deepen knowledhe in subjects they are really keen on. Provided that they will only have subjects related to the specific area which they are studying will help them to focus on important tasks and spend more time on doing projects and learning new information intertwined with their field. For instance, many universities in Europe provide their students with individual studying programme to make the studying more convenient for students.

In contrast to this idea, the effectiveness of a set curriculum remains significant. It is the curriculum that makes education balanced and comprehensive. It is claimed that students should expand their worldview and learn various subjects not only those they are interested in. For example, students who study humanities need to be aware of some important subjects such as science, medicine, law.

In conclusion, albeit students intentionally claim that they need to have freedom to choose subjects which they want to learn, the set curriculum should be a part of a learning process as well. Personally I believe that freedom to choose subjects that you want to learn is a great opportunity for students and it helps them discover their hidden talents and urges. Notwithstanding the benefits of this idea, I still consider having a set curriculum is an important element while studying. In order to improve that and make studying a great experience the institutions have to make changes in studying programme and roll out more free options and additional courses to the set curriculum.