In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is often argued that there is a notion in some cultures that in order to accomplish something, every child should never give up and put the best effort they have. In my opinion, the main advantages are that they feel supported and encouraged that they are able to perform better, while the disadvantages are they feel every achievement has to be perfect and failure is not acceptable. This essay will discuss the benefits and drawbacks of the same, along with examples and explanations.

To begin with, the benefits are to encourage youngsters, that there is a substance in every failure. They must not surrender if they have failed to achieve something. The message acts to motivate as well, that they are able to achieve every dream. We can take Hellen Keller as an example. She was deaf and blind, but she managed to earn her Bachelor of Arts degree despite her disabilities. By working hard, she knew that if she tried hard enough, every obstacle was easy to abolish.

However, not every child has the ability to handle failure wisely. For certain kids, these words will eventually become pressure. They will feel that everything they have done is not good enough and it is not acceptable by everyone. Moreover, sometimes people do not appreciate every effort that has been made by youngsters. Consequently, children will discover other way to fulfill the expectation. For instance, they will cheat at the exams in order to make their parents happy. Thus, it is not something that we expect as a result.

In conclusion, this notion has some advantages and drawbacks for every child. Children can be more energetic and encouraged to accomplish every dream. On the other hand, it can bring pressure and be unappreciated if they have failed on something.