In some part of the world, traditional festival and celebration have disappeared or are disappearing. What problem in this causing what measures could be taken to encounter this ritual ation

The disappearance of traditional and cultural festivals and celebrations has become a major issue all over the world. The hypothetical consequences of such indifference to one’s own culture can lead to unpredictable results, even such as full oblivion and loss of historical importance. To alleviate such a prominent setback, the causes of it must be acknowledged. There are a few suggestions that explain what has led to it, as well as a number of solutions.

The lack of engrossment will be the basis of why the problem exists. It is no doubt that throughout the last decades the young generations have lost the sense of cultural identity since they are most influenced by globalization. Consequently, having admired foreign literature, movies, and even products, the local art and brands may not fulfill all the needs and can appear to be tedious compared to what is beamed on the Internet. To illustrate such a phenomenon, the number of those who dislike or even skip native literature classes in school has notably surged, as students claim the works of the native writers to be predictable and basic. Instead, they prefer foreign literature, which could also be observed in libraries or bookshops. Bookshelves with foreign authors are empty, whereas the local department struggles to attract buyers.

One of the solutions for such an enormous issue can be implementing profound and well-organized cultural education since childhood. If done properly, young generations should feel an unconditional intrigue and appreciation towards their own country and history. To provide an example of such a system, children in kindergartens can be taken to museums and galleries that would introduce them to the basis of their culture in a language comprehensible to them. For teenagers and adults, the place where they study could provide a free pass to local festivals, which would be perceived as both an opportunity to relax and learn. Not only will society learn their history, but also how engrossing and valuable it can be. What’s more, cultural events will eventually obtain followers.