In some parts of the world, people buy far too many clothes. What are the reasons for this? How can people be persuaded to reduce the number of clothes they buy?

People all around the world want to dress nicely. However, in recent years we see a rising tendention that people buy more clothes than they need.

There are a couple of reasons describing the rise of overconsumption. One of them is a bad material quality. The clothes’s manufactoring industry nowadays stopped being about high-quality and became high-quantity. In stores we can see a lot of cheap clothes, unfortunatly, they will not last for long. Clothes from leather, cotton, denim became less affordable for customers. Secondly, today social media creates quick micro trends which a lot of people try to follow. For example, k-pop fans are trying to look like their favourite idols while coping their style, which can change every day.

Overconsumption is dangerous for the environment. That’s the reason for starting to implement action to reduce the number of clothes which people buy. Shops and stores can play a big role in it by stopping promoting adviticements like “buy 2 get 1 for free”. That action will help people decide what they do really want to buy instead of trying to buy anything just to take a part in a promotion. Moreover, social media can also play a big role in helping persuading people to think carefully before buy another item. For example, promoting the idea of minimal wardrobe and connection to it with the improvements in mental health (less stressed about what to wear and less anxious about following fashion trends).

Buying too many clothes is a big problem for the environment and it is time to find reasons and make actions.