In some parts of the world it is becoming popular to research the history of one's own family. Why might people want to do this? It is positive or negative development?

Recently, discovering one’s own family history has become trendy in several parts of the world. People are doing it for the reason that they want to know the past members of the family and for the next generation to know about them. From my point of view, it’s a positive development that I would like to expand.

There are several reasons why many individuals are becoming curious about their ancestry.

The primary reason behind this trend is that it’s become a basic knowledge that all have to know. To give an example, knowing family history has been transported to some kind of a tradition in Kazakhstan. Basically, Kazakhs have known about it since they were kids. It’s called “Zheti Ata”. “Zheti Ata” – is a knowledge of a seven past generation. It starts with a father and ends with grandfather, who started the family tree. Furthermore, you can know more but it’s not optional.

I hold the view that this trend is mostly positive because identifying the founders of the family is significant. Having knowledge of who your grandparents are and where they came from is important nowadays. Besides, I think that it should be passed down through the generations to preserve. It helps younger generations appreciate their traditions, which is now becoming rare unfortunately.

In conclusion, the growing interest in discovering family history helps to maintain their cultural and historical roots. For this reason, I think that it’s a positive development, which I hope for it’s improving.