In some school systems, children start learning at least one foreign language in primary school. In other school systems, foreign language education begins in secondary school. In your opinion, should children learn foreign languages in schools, and if so, at what age should they begin?

In a few school systems, children start learning at least one foreign language in primary school. Meanwhile, in other school systems, they begin to learn non-native language in secondary school. In my opinion, children should learn at least one foreign language in schools as they provide formal education that provides structured curricula. In general, second language should be introduced to children before young age since their linguistic abilities significantly develop between 6-12 years.

A non-native language should be taught in schools since schools provide formal education with structured curricula. Comparing to another education type, formal education is often associated with experiencing structured learning system. Since schools operates in standardized system, their students are more likely to follow learning process according to their level. For example, every child is guided step by step to learn vocabulary in basic english, then given standardized test to measure their language level in the end of class.

In general, children should get to know second language between 6 – 12 years. During those years, their linguistic abilities, a set of skill to learn new language actively and passively, increase significantly. This condition leads to fast learning, focused memory, and high curiosity, making children’s brain works on its maximum capacity to acquire many vocabularies. Comparing to adults, they are less likely to be fast learners in acquiring new language skills as decreased neuroplasticity.

In conclusion, learning second language should be taught in school since children are more likely to experience formal education with structured curricula. In general, they should get to know second language before young age as their brain show high level of neuroplasticity.