In the 20th century, contact between different parts of the world has developed rapidly thanks to air travel and telecommunications. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In the last century communication between different countries across the world developed quickly because of the air travel and telecommunications. I firmly believe that advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages. This essay will discuss both sides and present argument supporting my position.

One of the main advantages of the development in communication between countries is the fact that news and scientific inventions spread faster throughout the world. It led the improvement in social life of the population, because solutions to the problems began to be found quicker. The second benefit is the improvement in international relationships. The countries started communicating with each other: more developed countries began to help developing ones. Companies gain the ability to expand their sales and provide other countries with their products, leading to economic growth. For example, researches stated that a lot of the countries had their peak in economic growth after the 20th century, thanks to the communication with their neighbors.

On the other hand, rapid cultural exchange and the dominance of Western mass culture often led to cultural takeovers. This weakens and replaces local traditions and cultures of the smaller and less populated countries. For example, over generations, the younger people may grow up preferring global chain food to their cultural, traditional cooking.

To sum up, the disadvantages such as cultural takeovers may bring some difficulties, but in my opinion, advantages like development in international relationships and faster news spreading outweigh them.