In the age of digital communication and social media,face-to-face interactions are becoming less common.Some people think that this is decreasing people's ability to communicate well in person. Do you agree or disagree with this view?

Digital communication and social media are in the trend for the millenium generation and I stand strongly against the argument that due to the age of digital communication, people’s ability to communicate well in person is decreasing.

In today’s fast paced world social media has been emerged as a necessity, without being involved in digital communication which can be either formal or informal, it is very difficult to survive. On the other hand, if you talk about face-to-face interactions according to me it is a personal trait of a person. It would not be good to relate face to face interaction with social media, they might be the two sides of a coin but one side of the coin doesn’t affect the other side in any possible way.

People with good oratory and interaction skills who have a habit of face-to-face communication may also be hyper active on social media and also, it’s not necessary that a person who is not using social media is highly interested in face to face to communication, for me, being able to cope up with the age of digital communication along with face-to-face communication are both different skills which not interrelated and these skills are independent of each other.

I have met with so many people in my life who are well and good in both type of skills and why to discuss about others, I can give my own example, when I got admission in my Bachelor’s it was just because of social media and my skills of using digital communication as a weapon to get connected with people that I was able to get in touch with my seniors to enquire about my future institution and to get the other relevant and required information and when I reached to my educational institution, all the people around me were new to me and it was my ability to communicate well in person with others that I was so quick to adjust with the new faces and not just adjustment soon they have become a very important part of my life.

According to me if an individual is facing difficulty in having face to face communication, then instead of blaming the social media, he/she should try to introspect within themselves and try to improve their ability to communicate well in person. Blaming social media is irrelevant because now a days being active on social media is the need of the hour and both digital and face to face communication skills should go hand in hand for the complete personality development of an individual.