In the fight against crime , police forces and governments are increasingly using security cameras in public places. Some people are opposed to this saying that it our privacy

Security cameras have become ubiquitous in many countries. Whereas before , they appeared only in banks and at high-security areas, they are now entering public places such as malls, streets, stadiums, and transport. Many people feel this affects their privacy. This essay will examine whether the advantages of these cameras outweigh their negative impact.

Surve cameras have several benefits. An obvious benefit is that the police can catch criminals in the act , thus reducing crime . This will make the streets safer for ordinary people. A more important point is that criminals, particularly young offenders or pretty criminals, will be deterred. They will not tempted to carry out crimes , and thus society will be a lot safer . Cameras are also cost-effective unobtrusive. Authorities do not need to spend large amounts of money on police.

However, security cameras are far from being a perfect solution. The biggest objection concerns privacy. Numerous people feel that they should be free to trip or move around a shop , mall, street, or country without being photographed or recorded. They feel that being watched constantly is like being in jail , and that ordinary people are losing their freedom because of these devices.

In conclusion, although there are definite advantages to using surveillance devices such as cameras, we need to balance the need for security with respect for the personally privacy and freedom. If we do not trust the members of society, a situation like George Orwell’s “1984” could be result