In the future, it is difficult for humans to live on Earth. Some people think that more money should be used on research on how people can live on other planets such as Mars. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Living on Earth is now becoming uninhabitable, and interplanetary migration appears to be an appropriate alternative to inhabit. Investing money in scientific investigations with the intention of exploring other planets, like Mars, is thought to be crucial by some people. Although an understanding and exploration of space and planets can be helpful for several basic and indispensable reasons, I hold the view that restoring our own planet, Earth, is far more critical and feasible by adopting more eco-friendly lifestyles.

It is undeniable that our planet is becoming unsurvivable, leading to the inevitable escape, primarily due to human actions. Considering the deterioration of air quality and the loss of biodiversity as specific examples of ramifications that have been caused by human activities, one of the main contributors to this development is deforestation. Although plants are critical necessities for all living creatures – which reduce the amount of carbon dioxide, without which many species would not get by – thousands of tree-filled fields are being cut in favor of diverse human-needed services, such as for furniture, crafting, construction of factories, and many other profit-driven purposes. As a result of the desertification process, plenty of animal habitats can be threatened causing biodiversity loss, disrupting the healthy ecosystem development. Animals, for example, are also vital living creatures without whom other species cannot survive.

I, on the other hand, believe that other more realistic and effective approaches ought to be taken, with adopting more sustainable human lifestyles being one of them. For the last several decades, people have been exploiting natural and non-renewable resources in great amounts with profit-driven purposes, leading to the potential depletion of them. Such behaviors should be replaced with other more eco-friendly actions, including the replacement of gasoline cars – which are one of the most prevalent and harmful pollutants of our planet – with more useful models – electric vehicles, which help to prevent the environmental degradation. Another small yet effective way to prevent our own planet Earth from becoming uninhabitable is switching to bicycle-friendly routine. A lot of families possess a great number of private cars, the prevention of which can significantly decrease the amount of harmful gases being released. One specific solution can be building of more bicycle paths and increasing the price of private vehicles, which will encourage citizens to utilize them more frequently. Consequently, such similar sustainable human actions may help to steer clear of the environmental disasters, which humanity, themselves are responsible for.

In conclusion, despite the usefulness of space and another planet exploration, I agree that people are to correct their own mistakes and enhance the quality of life in Earth by acquiring healthier for environment habits.