In the future, robots will do more and more jobs instead of humans. Does this development have more advantages or disadvantages?

Traditionally,the workforce was predominantly dominated by humans. However, with advancements in technology, robots are now being utilized for many jobs. While this could be advantageous in improving the quality of life of humans in various aspects, it also has various demerits of invaluable consequences on humans.

Right from inception, individuals have been thought to take up jobs to enable them earn and be responsible. However, most people are so engrossed in their jobs as well as the pressure of earning to provide for their families that thay tend to end up having little or no time to relax or socialize and interact with their families and friends. This makes them prone to physical and emotional burnout’s, which can lead to conditions such as hypertension and depression respectively. However, with the advent of robots partaking in most of these jobs, people get to have more time to relax and socialize and hence less negative consequences on their physical,mental and social health.

Despite its merits, robotic predomination in the work sector can make humans lazy, dependent and redundant. Individuals begin to rely on robots for even the most basic things and this reduces motivation, inventions and innovations within the workplace and humans may be phased out from the workforce completely. Moreover, idleness can lead to Sedentary living, further predisposing people to conditions such as hypertension and obesity.

In conclusion, despite the invaluable benefit of robots in the workplace, it still has deleterious consequences on the physical wellbeing of humans as well as hinders drive and workplace innovation and initiative by humans.