In the late 20th century, the proportion of the world's population living in cities has increased substantially. People have moved in ever-growing numbers from rural to urban areas. As migration from rural areas to cities continues, it is inevitable that the infrastructure of these cities will collapse. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The percentage of people residing in urban areas has risen drastically in the last century. Due to the increasing number of people moving from the countryside to cities, some are afraid that the collapse of cities’ infrastructure cannot be prevented. Their concern is understandable, but I personally do not believe this being a genuine issue.

Given their nature of a higher population density, cities act as a magnet to many from rural areas with their higher number of often better-paid jobs. Besides, human beings currently prefer living in cities than in rural areas because of the convenience it brings, despite the worse pollution and cramped living space. It is not a modern phenomenon, as people live more and more concentrated since ten thousand years ago, when we evolved from nomadism to an agriculture-based society. In the process, as the properties of the society changes, a new group of people may benefit from residing in towns while another group no longer does, thus various people came and left the town; yet, there is still net growth in population and size of cities eventually. This proves that cities will maintain the perfect equilibrium of infrastructure supply and people’s demand, preventing it from failing to provide services.

Advancements in technology allow a greater population in an area. While some are concerned that facilities in cities may not be able to support the huge demand of usage, novel technologies let more people to live in them. A notable example is that one of the first drainage system was invented in Ancient Rome back in circa 600 BC, so Romans were able to build habitats with a record population density while maintaining the sanitariness of their cities. As buildings nowadays are being built taller than ever, fitting more people and services simultaneously is nowhere near being an issue.

In summary, while the number of urban-immigrating people do ascend, there exist solutions which enables a higher population density. It is also worth noting that there are factors encouraging some people to leave the cities. As such, I disagree with the idea that the infrastructure of cities will collapse as migration from rural areas to cities continues.