In the new age of Generative AI, what are the most important impacts on education?

Nowadays, artificial intelligence is widely used among all types of age ranges, from adults who use it for work, to even young students who use it for school work. AI is developing day by day and the more we use it, the more advanced this technology can get. But what types of crucial effects does it have on traditional education? In this essay, I will discuss its beneficial impacts, and its drawbacks.

The main reason why AI can be considered helpful in the education field is that it can be a great supportive tool for not only for learners, but for teachers too. What I mean by this is that due to the advanced knowledge of this mechanism, it can identify the level of a certain pupil or a teacher and help them understand a specific topic better by determining their weaknesses and strengths. For instance, it has been reported by officials that people who use AI-specialised tool for eduction improved up to 30% in their tests. Moreover, artificial intelligence can significantly enhance a person’s intelligence not only for free, but also rapidly.

However, the consequences of AI is not just positive. That being said, the ability of a human to think critically and analyse data could be extremely damaged because of the excessive usage of automation. In other words, if we continue using AI for simple tasks such as writing an essay, or solving a math problem, it can reduce our capability to do such duties. This issue has mainly resulted in Generation Z, making them “mentally lazy” and dependent on AI compared to older users.

All things considered, artificial intelligence can have its own major advantages like accessibility, though we have to weigh up the disadvantages of the loss of human thinking. Personally, I believe that AI is a great resource for education, especially when help is needed, but we should also limit our use to it in order to keep our brains healthy and stable.