In the past, important knowledge about history and culture was stored in museums. However, today, people can see everything on the internet without paying any money. Therefore, we no longer need museums. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Many years ago, vital historical knowledge and cultural displays were vastly stored and exhibited in museums. However, it is now widely believed that the appearance of such places is no longer necessary due to the invention of the Internet, which allows people to observe and obtain such knowledge quickly and freely. Personally, I only partially agree with this statement and will explain my reasons below.

On the one hand, it is true that, compared to travelling to physical museums, visiting and viewing historical or cultural information via online platforms is far more convenient, straightforward, and budget-friendly, as people are only required to have a digital device connected to the Internet to immerse themselves in historical and cultural information from anywhere at any time. This is not only a more appealing option for those who are not financially independent or may be living remotely, yet still desire to gain a better understanding of a particular region, country, or its locals. In addition, recent technological advancements have enabled people to take virtual visits, which can be much more captivating and enjoyable, positively impacting the overall quality of such a visiting experience.

On the other hand, museums, however, exist for important reasons. Visitors who go to museums in person have the opportunity to view all the displays and artefacts with their own eyes, an experience that is certainly more beneficial for their cognition and emotions, assisting their memory of events or observed details to be long-lasting and unforgettable. More importantly, museums are places that are mainly responsible for the preservation of historical artefacts and displays, ensuring that they are well maintained and kept in good condition. Therefore, removing such locations also means that historically meaningful items would have nowhere to be placed and carefully preserved for the purpose of both display and maintaining their sentimental value for a group of individuals or even an entire country.

In conclusion, while many digital platforms are indeed greatly beneficial and can offer countless advantages, such as providing people with a higher-quality experience regardless of their location or saving a significant amount of time and money on museum visits, these places are undeniably pivotal and irreplaceable, as they are responsible for preserving crucial historical and cultural knowledge and can maximise the cognitive and emotional impact on museum visitors.