In the past, important knowledge about history and culture was stored in museums. However, today, people can see everything on the internet without paying any money. Therefore, we no longer need museums. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In recent years, the internet has revolutionized the way people access information, namely historical and cultural content. Therefore, some argue that physical museums are slowly made redundant due to the availability of digital resources. However, in my view, museums offers unique and long lasting experiences that could not be replicated virtually.

There are compelling arguments in favor of the usage of the internet to store historical and culture knowledge. Proponents believe that an online storage gives access to a myriad of information from different cultures of distinct time. Moreover, such online platforms does not require a large investment, allowing resources to be allocated to other needs.

However, the supporters of internet storage has overlooked the spiritual and educational values of museums. Physical museums not only displays ancient relics of the past, they also serve as an educational institution. Museums hosts guided tours, interactive exhibits, and implements educational programs that attracts and educates visitors of all ages. Therefore, inspiring curiosity within the viewers to discuss and explore more about the history and culture.

Additionally, museums are used to preserve culture heritage. They house rare and fragile artifacts of the past to ensure their existence is available for future generations. While digital platforms are more functional for documenting and disseminating the information, they could not care for the physical aspects of the relics. For example, the Rosetta Stone, displayed in the British Museum, is preserved under strict environmental controls that prevent deterioration. Such care cannot be replicated digitally.

In conclusion, while the online format is useful in providing it’s users access to information with little to no cost easily, it can not fully replace the surreal experiences physical museums offers. In fact, museums should implement more technology to complement their institution, making the tour even more memorable for their visitors.