In the past, important knowledge about history and culture was stored in museums. However, today, people can see everything on the internet without paying any money. Therefore, we no longer need museums. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

With the recent technological breakthrough, internet has been wide spreaded and been accessible to everyone. One school of thoughts holds that it is reasonable to eliminate museum and enjoy the galleries at home as it is charge-free. While this view has it own justification, I firmly believe that museum still plays an important role in our life.

Granted, the availability of internet, especially virtual platforms, has allowed people fully access to valuable historial figures and knowledge without too much expenses. For example, instead of moving abroad to contemplate the Roman ancient in an Italy exhibition museum, which may cost a fortune, one could simply sit down at home watching videos on Youtube or Facebook about the same features that are offered by the museum. However, this line of reasoning is flawed, given that online platform could only provide users with non-realistic objects, which in turn make their experience less satisfied compared to practical one. This is especially true for children, who are full of curiosity and need both visuallly and physically stimuli to enhance their knowledge about their anciency’s difficulty, hence pushing their patriotism as well as historically respect.

Maintaining museum would not only benefit education but also tourism. As historical values often attract a lot of curiosity, government could take the advance of their long faithfull history and culture to attract knowledge-seeking travellers from different continents. For instance, the ancient Hoi An city at Quang Nam province in Viet Nam has been a hub for tourism since the government decided to fund in reconstruct destroyed buildings and opened a historial museum in the town, where they show us the development of the town since ancient time with observable estates in the town. After that, a lot of tourists has come and experienced their traditional and cultural values, hence propelling the province overal GDP after long time of downing.

In conclusion, while online exhibition offer affordable ways to explore history and culture, I am convinced that with educational purposes and financial benefits achieved from reallife interaction, we should keeping museum.