Some feel that it is impossible for a country to be economically progressive and environmentally friendly at the same time. Others disagree with this view. Discuss both points of view and give your opinion.

There is an old saying that said “You cannot have your cake and eat it too”, in a sense it is impossible to have this decadent treat and not consume it. This sentiment parallels many countries’ stand in economy advancement and environmental preservation, hence they always have to prioritize one or the other. In contrast, some people believe in equilibrium between both ecosystems, where people could thrive economically without pillaging the Earth.

The impossibility of balance between economy and sustainability might depend on human natures of greed. Our planet survived many natural catastropic events, yet humanity is the biggest threat to our planet. This irony might stem from humans’ need to cultivate in excess, thereby pillaging unnecessary resources that would deprive our planet sooner. As a result, countries economy soar at the cost of environmental damages. The inverse of this situation is also not viable, where people could preserve the nature but having deficit in economic needs, such as the isolated people in Papua New Guinea who struggle to provide nutritious sustenance and proper education.

The opposite side of the argument try to convince many countries to restore the balance. This movement might not be an easy task, consequently, people are still reluctant to shift their view and neglect the convenience of capitalism. The main believe is to collectively move towards sustainable and regenerative living. The latter idea promotes conservation of the planet while still fulfilling the necessities without excess resource extractions. The future’s longevity should be engraved on every steps that humanity take; therefore, humans would break the vicious cycle of environemtal abuse and start to heal the damages in the past.

In conclusion, both views stem from humanity’s view towards the future. Those who belive in the impossibility choose live in excess and present moment, while sustainable thinkers always have the future and balance in their mindset.